Sri Lanka in 2015 World Cup

Jump to: navigation, search

Sri Lanka is in Pool A of the 2015 World Cup. The team is led by its skipper Angelo Mathews. Sri Lanks's two most experienced players Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene are making their final appearance in World Cup tournaments.

Sri Lanka finished the group stage at No. 3 in Pool A winning four of six matches. They will face South Africa in the quarterfinals.


The following are the players in the 15-member squad of Sri Lanka that will compete in the tournament.


  • Feb 9, 2015: vs South Africa (warm-up) - lost by 5 wickets (D/L method)
  • Feb 11, 2015: vs Zimbabwe (warm-up) - lost by 7 wickets
  • Feb 14, 2015: vs New Zealand - lost by 98 runs
  • Feb 22, 2015: vs Afghanistan at University Oval, Dunedin - won by 4 wickets
  • Feb 26, 2015: vs Bangladesh at Melbourne Cricket Ground - won by 92 runs
  • Mar 1, 2015: vs England at Westpac Stadium, Wellington - won by 9 wickets
  • Mar 8, 2015: vs Australia at Sydney Cricket Ground - lost by 64 runs
  • Mar 11, 2015: vs Scotland at Bellerive Oval, Hobart - won by 148 runs


Fast bowler Dhammika Prasad was ruled out of 2015 World Cup after he suffered a fractured hand at training. He will be out of action for four weeks and Sri Lanka are seeking a replacement for him on the approval of ICC's event technical committee. - Feb 7, 2015

Coaching Staff

Marvan Atapattu is the coach of the Sri Lankan team. Former fast bowler Rumesh Ratnayake was appointed consultant coach for the early stages of the 2015 World Cup. Ratnayake will assist the team from February 4 till the last match of Sri Lanka in the World Cup. Chaminda Vaas will also continue in his role as fast bowling coach.

On 6 February 2015, Sri Lanka hired sports psychologist Jeremy Snape for assistance to the team in the 2015 World Cup. Jeremy Snape has worked with the team in the home series against England in November-December 2014. Snape will be with the team for 14 days, from February 24 to March 9.

Previous World Cup Campaigns

Sri Lanka won the 1996 World Cup. It beat Australia in the final. The team was led by Arjuna Ranatunga.

Mahela Jayawardene was the captain of the Sri Lankan team when it reached the final of 2007 World Cup. It suffered a 53-run defeat against Australia in Barbados. Kumar Sangakkara led the team in 2011 World Cup which lost to India in the final.