Sri Lanka

Jump to: navigation, search

HomeBrud.gifTeamsBrud.gifSri Lanka

Sri Lanka is a cricketing team and won the Cricket World Cup in 1996. Sri Lanka has been one of the consistent sides in ICC events. They have reached the final of two World Cups and three World T20s since 2007. In 2014, Sri Lanka won the ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh defeating India in the final.

The team is currently led by Angelo Mathews. Former captain Sanath Jayasuriya is the chief selector of the team. Board of Control for Cricket in Sri Lanka is the governing body of Cricket in Sri Lanka.

Key People


One Day Internationals

National Records

World Cup History

2015 World Cup

For news and information on Sri Lanka in the 2015 World Cup, check Sri Lanka in 2015 World Cup

Stats & Trivia

  • The highest total conceded by Sri Lanka in World Cup matches is 376. On 8 March 2015 Australia scored 376/9 against Sri Lanka in a group match of 2015 World Cup, which they won by 64 runs. The previous highest was 373/6 scored by India in 1999 World Cup.


Fast bowler Dhammika Prasad was ruled out of 2015 World Cup after he suffered a fractured hand at training. He will be out of action for four weeks and Sri Lanka are seeking a replacement for him on the approval of ICC's event technical committee. - Feb 7, 2015